Some people think that criminals should be given longer term imprisonment, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, people prosecute the idea that criminals should be taken longer time of imprisonment to decrease the crime rate, however, this essay disagrees with the given statement because long imprisonment does not guarantee success in future for ex-prisoners, furthermore,isolation is affected people in jail doesn't help to integrate into the community after many years. In terms of precipitation, the modern jail system goes towards protecting regular citizens from criminals by long-term imprisonment. However, many ex-prisoners do not change and continue to do unlawful things after isolation, such as murder or worse, so the system does not give safety to people and is ineffective in the task response because it doesn't change prisoners. For instance, in Mexico, they increased the time of imprisonment for drug sellers but it didn't show any result in the fight against drugs. Therefore, the crime rate grows in the same way as before the reform.