Many students like to get involved in extra- curricular activities at university such as social clubs and sports. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?v

There is an ongoing trend where a majority of university students tend to join social and sports club as an activity besides classes. This essay explains the advantages and the disadvantages of getting involved in extra-curricular activities. Although clubs might offer more advantages, I believe that academic should be the main focus in university. Joining a variety of clubs in university brings social benefits, especially in networking. Firstly, they get to know a lot of other students who choose the same clubs. Befriending and keeping in touch with people will open more opportunities in the future as they are your networks. Furthermore, meeting many people from different backgrounds helps to acknowledge the personality of each person, so it develops social awareness skill. In addition to that, students will have pleasant memories during university as they join clubs where people share the same interests. Participating in multiple clubs at once can also bring a potential drawback to the students' academic performance. They might spend too much time in managing the club or simply gathering with other club members to the point where they neglect classes and assignments. This is an alarming phenomenon for Indonesian students where they prioritize their desired clubs more than education, so that many of them end up with bad grades and have to retake class next year. As a result, university clubs can bring negative impact to students if they become a priority. In conclusion, getting involved in many activities besides classes offers numerous social benefits. However, I argue that students should pay more attention to their study and prioritize academic progress.