some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. why is this the case? Do you think this is positive or negative development ?

Should children spend hours every day on their smartphones? We are now entering the age of technology and most parents are allowing their children to have their own personal smartphone for daily use. However this can create some issues and there are positivies and negatives to this. One of the many advantages of having a phone is instant communication, for example when your child is at school while you're busy doing work in the office, you can always call or text anytime. Technology makes it easier for us to communicate to other people eventhough we're not in the same place. Moreover another positive impact to this is that it builds creativity for your child. Additionally, these days accessing information is quicker and learning new things only takes a few minutes. However, kids spending hours on their ipads or tablets can risk their brain health and developments on their body. This can be unhealthy in the long run. Too much of screen time can affect their eyesight in the near future, especially if they don't have breaks in between. Some parents don't supervise their kids and what they see online. Although there are age restrictions, the internet might still be a dangerous place for younger audiences. Furthermore, ipads, laptops and such create addictive behaviours not only to toddlers but also for adults. To conclude, I believe that children should not always be on their gadgets. Technology has become more convinient but there are many disadvantages to this. I think, instead of playing games on their gadgets, they can play outside with friends or family, and interact with nature.