Task 2. The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, public has considered about shortening the working week and extending the weekend. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this is a worthwhile endeavor as it benefits not only workers but also several economic fields. Firstly, since workers are faced with tremendous difficulites and deadlines from both professional and personal life, leading to stress and mental health problems, reducing the working period in each week will probably provide them with more time to solve such problems. For instance, employees who have a lots of task to complete at work place will no longer feel helpless when they have to pick their children up at school as they now have more time. Furthermore, a shorter work week will also enhance productivity. This is due to the fact that when employees have fewer days to complete their tasks, they tend to highly focus on such missions and work with higher pace. Take, for example, a company in Japan conducted a research and showed that four-day work week led to 40% increase in productivity. Besides this, countries deciding to shorten the week day and extend the weekend will also reap financial rewards. This is because longer weekends provide worker more time to relax, pursure leisure pursuit and interact with society, which will significantly reduce stress and maintain a healthy work -life balance. Moreover, such modification can act as a precursor to fostering the economic growth, as with more leisure time, those people will take part in more relaxing activities, thriving some sectors such as tourism and entertainment. For example, in Finland, the tourism industry has witnessed considerable increase in revenue since the gorvernment reduced the length of working week. In conclusion, I strongly believe that longer weekend would be highly advantageous as it provide us many potential benefits in both individual and public aspects.