Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teachign sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that free community service should be a compulsory part of high school curriculum. Such as working for a charity, improving neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children. I completely agree with this viewpoint because taking part in an unpaid community service helps students to practice teamwork and it enhances their empathy. Compulsory voluntary community service in school curriculum helps students to practice teamwork. They learn skills requiring for working in a team. They learn to respect the opinions of others, take a shared decision while working in a team. These skills are useful for their future professional careers. For example, school curriculums in Australia make it mandatory for the students to take part in neighbourhood gardening. These curriculums develop the skills of students to work in a group, and this practice helps in their future professional lives. Moreover, working in community service without payment helps students to build empathy. They become sensible human beings, and show kindness towards others. Because while providing free service in a charity or in a neighbourhood, they connect with less fortunate people. They become empathetic to poor people and this help them to become sensible human beings. For instance, school students in Bangladesh take part in distributing food to impoverish people as a part of their school syllabus. This practice makes them good human beings and they learn to show respecta nd kindness to them. To conclude, school students should take part in compulsory free community work. This practice makes them empathetic and increases their group work skills.