In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the life expectacy rate has become higher among so many societies. This development raises a controversial debate, whether an aging population carries more advantages or in contrast, it has more disadvantages. In my opinion, although elderly people can bring an important advantage to the society, they can also cause several challenges. As a matter of fact, old individuals are more experienced than young people, as they worked for years and gained valuable knowledge. Therefore, they can share their experiences and special techniques with young experts and train them in specific fields, helping new-comers to perform better at their careers. Thus, these precious work methods can be passed through generations in an ideal way. Despite this crucial advantage, there are a couple of disadvantages that can be mentioned. Primarily, a huge amount of money is required to be allocated to providing appropriate care for old members of a society. Moreover, elderly poeple cannot work to help the economy to grow. Not only they do not make money, helping the wheel of industry to spin, they need an excessive amount of budget to take care of. In other words, old people may cause the government to cope with potential financial difficulties. In conclusion, societies with a high population of old members mostly face challenges, such as allocating a high amount of funding to taking care of them and also their disability to work, causing an economic growth, rather than benefits. However, there is an essential advantage that can't be ignored: they are full of useful experiences which can be beneficial for younger workforces to learn.