Nowadays, many parents put pressure on their children so that they excel in schools as well as in other extracurricular activities. Why do parents do this? Is this a positive or a negative development for the children?

Many parents force their children to perform optimally in extracurricular activities along with outstanding academic performance. There are several reasons contributing to this demand, and while it can offer certain benefits, putting extra pressure on young souls can exasperate them. Doing extracurricular activities, not only increases one's chance of getting accepted into a prestigious college and university but also gives them an opportunity to learn invaluable life lessons. These activities enable schoolers to strengthen their curriculum vitae by showcasing their skills beyond academic performanceand increasing their chance to obtain a higher degree from a reputable college. Moreover, by joining art or sports clubs, young children learn valuable life experiences and enhance their interpersonal skills, such as resilience and teamwork. Consequently, parents demand excellent performance in extracurricular activities along with outstanding results in standardized exams to boost their children's social skills and provide a greater chance for them to pursue higher degrees. The effect of extra curriculum tasks can vary in the advantage-disadvantage spectrum based on its severity. outside the regular school's curriculum stands to yield substantial benefits for children, however, augmented pressure can have a detrimental impact on their mental health. Children have to sacrifice sleeping time to study as they have already used social hours of the day for engaging in extratracurricular extra-curricular activities. this lack of sleep, along with their parent's high expectations can cause major depression and anxiety disorders, ultimately forcing them to quit school and become dependent on drugs for a normal life. On the other hand, by incorporating less demanding activities in children's schedules, fathers and mothers can ensure that their children profit from doing extra work as well as maintaining a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, parents demand their children to excel both in academic exams and outside the curriculum activities in order to shape more experienced individuals and heighten children's chance to attend a tertiary education. Although this approach can be beneficial in some ways, it can potentially hinders individual's quality of life by affecting childrens minds negatively.