In recent years virtual tourism including virtual reality tours, 360 videos has emerged as an alternative form of travelling reshaping the way people explore destinations and connect with cultural heritage from afar. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Virtual tourism has expanded as a way of experiencing travelling from a distance. This essay will provide advantages and disadvantages of virtual travel. Firstly, doing virtual tours saves a lot of time, it can be done on your own time, during weekends or breaks. As a result you do not have to take time off, added bonus it is usually much cheaper or even free to access virtual museums and other places. That leads to another benefit: it is more accessible to do a virtual tour both for people, who have less money and for disabled, because it costs almost no money and can be reached through your phone in your home. Consequently, it gives more opportunities to see the world, for people, who otherwise would not be able to. The main drawback of virtual tourism is the lack of real experience, when you travel in person you get to not only see and hear your location, but also feel it through touch, smell and taste. Even though you can see it, it will not feel as real as an in-person visit. Travelling is an experience in itself you get to meet new people, hear other languages and emerge yourself in diverse cultures, while doing it online you miss out on all of the immersion. Another added disadvantage is you are only able to see what is presented for you online, you can choose from a variety of preselected locations. As a result you do not have freedom of choosing and exploring little nooks and crannies of each travel destination. To conclude, travelling online saves time, is cheaper and more accessible, but lacks the essence of real experience and takes away opportunities to connect with culture and your freedom to choose your own exploration path. I believe virtual tourism has its place, but the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and travelling in person is a much more suitable choice.