It has been observed that in many countries notenoughstudentsarechoosingto studyscience subjects at university. What do you think are the causes of the problem? What are the effects on society

In various nations, there is a lack of pupils choosing to study science subjects at a tertiary level. In this essay, I will be discussing the contributions to this problem and how this choice made by students is affecting the society. Firstly, I think that poor quality of teaching at a secondary school is the main factor of the decision being made by learners to not study science courses at unversity. Students tend to select and aquire more knowledge on classes that they excel in, therefore, insufficient understanding on the subject would make pupils feel that they are not good enough to meet the requirements set by certain instituitions. For example, university applications are very competitive and if a pupil already feels that they are not up to standard in terms of knowledge, in comparison to their peers, they may feel pressured into choosing another course that they have a better chance of being accepted into. Furthermore, this decision made by students may have negative impacts on society. With fewer students studying science subjects, jobs in industries that require this knowlegde will eventually cease to exist. This not only impacts the general public, but the economy as well because a decrease in the number of employees working in organisations that require science lead to a depletion in profits. Moreover, a reduction in profits is unpleasant for businesses as they will not be able to pay rent and cover costs, resulting in closure.  In conclusion, there are fewer students who view science as a subject option in university due to a weak foundation in understanding of this field as well as the increase in competitiveness for applying to tertiary instituitions. This choice made by students affects the nation negatively due to a decrease in job opportunities and the diminshing of businesses.