In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first year after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

One-year maternity leave is implemented in numerous countries as of birthgiving. Although such a long period of abscence impairs workforce, taking care of newborns by mothers is vital. From my perspective, infant care is fairly more significant than the manpower, since the loss of manpower can be tolerated. Over the course of 15-years span, the proportion of women in worklife has increased dramatically. While this ratio was scarcely more than 20 per cent previously, nowadays, the number of male and female employees is nearly equalized. In this context, pregnancy has increased its importance. Due to the requirement that at least one year of meticulous childcare, companies face hardships related to lack of staff. Correlated to the scale of companies, challenges are likely to be bigger. Consider a restaurant which operates with five-people staff. The abscence of one of them, hardens that establishment's workflow. A newborn, however, constanly needs meticulous care. This utterly important responsibility must be carried out by mother with utmost sensitivity. There are challenging tasks that must be done punctually, such as following short sleeping period, brestfeeding and diapering. As baby needs to be taken care of most in one-year period, fulfilling these requirements is of paramount importance to parentship. Furthermore, the relationship between mother and baby begins in infancy. This is also fairly significant reality that must not be ignored, in order to cultivate healthy generations. Consequently, employers may find a replacement for missing staff; yet, babies cannot do the same for their mothers. In conclusion, it is a fact that the birth leave leads to decrement in workforce; however, early childcare can be carried out by non other than mother herself. For this reason, the maternity leave is more beneficial.