In recent years virtual tourism including virtual reality tours, 360 videos has emerged as an alternative form of travelling reshaping the way people explore destinations and connect with cultural heritage from afar. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As technologies progress, they make our lives easier at speeds not ever seen before in history. One of the aspects that technology is revolutionizing is traveling. Before the age of the internet and computer technology, a person wishing to experience the wonderful cultures and see the interesting objects or nature’s creations in countries abroad would have a rather slim choice of options: travel, or see pictures and film. Thankfully, this is not the case anymore. Today, anyone can partake in virtual tours, provided they have a device with internet access. This technology allows free worldwide access to famous museums such as the Louvre, the National Art Gallery of London in their internet pages, many panoramas of different cities, churches, temples, and other cultural objects with on demand explanation in AirPano, and many more possibilities for people that are interested, but can’t travel to these places due to the expenses, lack of time or safety. Now while virtual tours have many benefits, such as accessibility, price, comfortability, and allowing virtual visitors to get an idea of places without requiring them to physically be there, they also have their drawbacks. For one, viewing an object through a screen is just not as exciting or impressive for most people, which is a significant bottleneck for the experience. Besides that, some people might find the user interface inconvenient and unintuitive, which also may hinder the experience. However, the disadvantages really aren’t significant when compared to the fact that seeing something through a virtual tour is much better than not seeing it at all. In conclusion, virtual tourism may not match the excitement of physical experiences, or feel as intuitive, but it is definitely a great alternative to it, and it has no harmful disadvantages.