Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been thought by people that the rise in taxes for fuels used in cars, imposed by the government, can reduce traffic and pollution. In my opinion, I think that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, which I will be discussing in this essay. Firstly, the imposition of taxes will encourage the general public to use public transport more often as people would want to save money. For instance, a young person with poor earning power would prefer to save money on petrol, and therefore, resort to using the mode of transportation that costs less. This reduces the amount of cars on the road, resulting in a decrease in congestion on the road and a reduction in the emissions of harmful gases which will help improve the quality of air. Furthermore, not everyone will be able to afford the increase in taxes for petrol. For example, the lack of ability to afford the taxes deters people from using transportation modes that require fuel to function properly, forcing them into using public transport. To reduce the harmful effects of vehicles that require fuels, the government could consider reducing the prices of public transport which would further motivate people to use communal transport methods. In conclusion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages as imposing a tax on petrol would encourage the use of communal transport as a whole. If people are not able to afford the increase in taxes, the government could reduce the price of public transport, eliminating the prospect of this disadvantage. Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?