Some people say that that working at home is beneficial to the worker and the family while others believe that it is stressful to both the worker and the family. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that employees and their families are getting benefits from working from home scheme. However, others argue that it can cause work related stress for both parties. This essay elaborates the two sides and I agree with the former since its benefits outweigh the latter. On the one hand, working from home schemes are often designed to have flexible working hours which gives the workers freedom to choose when to finish their job so they can do other tasks such as doing house chores. Furthermore, there is no need to commute to workplace and this significantly reduces the stress of the workers. For instance, some companies in Indonesia let their employees decide whether they want to work at the office or at home for a day every week to reduce the mental stress of the workers. Therefore, working from home is proven to be advantageous for the workers to prevent them from getting overwhelmed at work. On the other hand, this scheme can also bring some potential drawbacks such as getting disturbed by a family member while working which can lead to losing focus. Moreover, for an outgoing and sociable individual, working from home might cause stress since interaction only happens with family and only little conversation made with other workers. For example, an acquintance of mine who had a remote job with healthy working hours and good salary left his job to a full-time onsite work as he preferred a job that allows him to socialize with other people. Therefore, working from home is not suitable for workers who are extroverted. However, this also means that a less sociable person suits working at home since interaction between workers are not mandatory. In conclusion, although people perceive that working from home is stressful for both workers and families, I strongly believe that it offers more advantages for the workers since it provides flexibility and it reduces stress from commuting and socializing