You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

Nowaday, the environment is threatened by the increase in commodity production to meet market demands leading to a lot of consequences. Therefore, to overcome the serious consequences which are caused by the manufacturing industry, we need to clarify the causes and come up with optimal measures. First and foremost, the increase in commodity consumption causes many harmful effects in terms of land, air and water pollution. Firstly, indiscriminate littering and mineral exploitation to serve production lead to pollution and soil erosion. Additionally, poaching wild animals to do animal experiments for cosmetic production causes ecological imbalance, pushing many animal species into danger of extinction. Secondly, factories do not meet wastewater treatment procedures and illegal toxic waste disposal, dumping untreated sewage directly into rivers and lakes are also one of the major causes of water pollution, affecting household water sources. Finally, heavy reliance on fossil fuels for production causes poisonous fumes, reduced air quality which is the main cause leading to global warming and greenhouse gas emission. Secondly, to overcome the consequences caused by production, effective solutions are needed. Firstly, the government needs to take drastic action such as enact laws, impose a limitation for a level which is acceptable and issue a fine level to control commercial exploitation of natural resources. Moreover, businesses need to implement environmental discharge regulations to move towards green-minded businesses. Finally, individuals, it is necessary to actively participate in environmental protection activities, plant trees, throw trash in the right place, and recycle plastic bottles many times. In conclusion, increasing production to meet increasing market demand causes impacts on the environment. Hence, we need to take practical actions to protect the environment.