You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that trough all over the world, the move of rural population to agglomerations induces a drop in countryside’s inhabitants. This essay agrees with the fact that it might be a positive phenomenon. Many people from the rural zone, especially in industrial countries, use to leave their native home for great cities, looking for opportunities and for a more comfortable life. Indeed, since the industrial revolution, cities got developed dramatically, in many aspects of life, and the need of a huge workforce to fulfil the need of factories, induced these movements. It is clear that every human being has the right to make his own life’s choices and long for a better and affluent life. This change for rural people allows them to escape from poverty and witnesses a nosedive in the rate of joblessness. For instance, in the early 1920s,workers in Casablanca city, Morocco, used to come from the rural area surrounding the city in order to labor and make their life better. A significant part of them could take the advantage of that move, thus, improving their social situations. If several inhabitants from the countryside emigrate to agglomerations, there are still a lot that are convinced by their lifestyle and refuse categorically to abandon their peace of land. Furthermore, some people do the opposite and, in a perspective of changing their mode of life, try to settle in small towns far from the stressful atmosphere of cities and the high cost of living. For these matters, an overwhelming reduction in rural population rate is unexpected. Casablanca city is,once again, a perfect example to illustrate the prior idea. In fact, numerous wealthy citizens decided in the last decade to move on to rural areas, surrounding the city, to take benefit from the low prices in flats and houses as well as the comfort brought by nature. In conclusion, the move of rural population to urban areas is definitely a positive trend witnessed these last years. This change may help people improving their social standings and reduce unemployment and poverty in our modern society. In spite of this trend, many others prefer to stay in the countryside or move to small towns for diverse reasons.