TOPIC: A tendency that the news report in the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than the positive development is harmful to both the individual and the society. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Media have always played a particular role in society. They are an instrument wchich is capable of ifulencing people worldwide. However, many complain on the way they gain their popularyty, since they have been focusing mostly on the problems and drama. I do find such a behaviour harmful and believe that they have a negative impact on society. The news reports create a hostile image of the world. Individuals who base their knowledge on media may often be under a false impression that the world consist mostly of the violence and crimes as such topics enjoy the biggest popularity in the television. For instance, news highlighting any form of wrongdoing are much more interesting than the others. Media, therefore, benefit from people's desire to hear about hostility and, as a result, create a wrong image of the world, which can be harmful for society. In addition, such an approach can make individuals less frendly towards each other. People who constantly hear about crimes and the violence not only do have a less trust to the rest of society, but also may be more hostile towards one another. To illustrate this, if you see wrongdoing so often in the TV, you may suffer from a lack of a reliance on the other people. Consequently, the news reports have a negative impact on individuals. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that media have a harmful impact on both society and individuals. Their actions can contribute to creation of a false image of the world, and make people less frendly towards one another.