In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals believe that putting crimes in prison is not an effective solution to cope with them however education and training are better. Personally, I partly agree with this statement because of some major reasons which I shall explain in more detail in this essay. On the one hand, education and training are thought to be more successful than imprisonment in addressing criminal problems since fact reports have proven that insufficient education is one of the primary reasons resulting in criminal behaviours. Therefore, we can see in fact the higher rate of offenders coming from the lower class in society, particularly, in slum areas where most people could not access education enough. The crimes scarcity both knowledge and awareness and this causes difficulties in career opportunities. Consequently, they will engage in illegal acts to earn money to cover their living cost and survive. On the other hand, some said that with the aim of dealing with serious lawbreakers effectively, there is a need for harmony between punishment and education for jails to recognize their illegal engagements and not dare to re-offend. If the law only focuses on the education of wrongdoers and does not deter them by punishments such as sending them to prison, they will see that the consequences of their criminal activities are straightforward. Hence, they will still commit a further offence without fear of punishment, as a result of the increasing number of delinquents. In conclusion, I partly agree with the idea that putting crimes in prison is not an effective resolution to deal with them while education and training are more effective because I believe that to achieve effective dealing with criminal issues, the government should apply both education and imprisonment to chastise their criminal engagements, especially, dangerous crimes.