In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see this courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Since the past decade, there has been a significant increase in the number and variety of online courses for adults. Many students have welcomed this opportunity, however, some students believe that these courses are not as effective as face-to-face teaching. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of online teaching. One benefit of online courses is anyone can access and enrol in these courses when they wish. There is no age limit of enroling in these courses. Anyone at any age can enrol in these courses and study. Another advantage is there are no qualification and experience requirements for these online courses. Therefore, people can choose these courses according to their choices. For example, in Japan, many people enrol online basic computer course at their 60s and there is no prior qualification required for enrolment. This course helps elders to enhance their digital literacy. However, the main drawback of these courses is there is no opportunity of face-to-face teaching. When the students face any problem, they cannot discuss it face-to-face with their teachers. Moreover, the courses are not well-developed and people cannot easily understand them. The performance cannot be monitored properly. Therefore, there are a lot of lackings in these courses. For instance, in Australia, around 40% of online courses students have expressed their dissatisfaction regarding the curriculam of online courses. In conclusion, online courses have benefits such as flexibility in age and qualification for enrolment. The drawbacks are there are no opportunity of face-to-face learning, the course curriculum has defect.