Some people say that watching TV programmes and movies related to crime are popular. Why do you think it is popular and how does it affect society?

Nowadays the old stories of serial killers and their innocent victims are in vogue, especially since big companies like Netflix began producing TV series and films about this topic. Why these are so popular and their impact on the society will be discussed in this essay. Overall, I believe that the popularity of this progammes programmes is proportionate to how horrific they are, the more the story is scary the more people's attention gets. For example, a few weeks ago a new series about the Menendez's brothers, two wealthy young adults who murdered their parents in the 80s, has been released and immediately reached the record for the most seen series of the year. Another example is the TV series about Jeffrey Dahmer, where explicit sanguineous scenes about him eating their victim's organs after killing them were shown. Due to the vision of this content, society is influenced by it. As a result of projecting the story of those psychopaths on the big screen, people are beginning to idolize them. For instance, on social media a lot of young girls empathized with the previously mentioned protagonists only because they were handsome, asking for them to be released, which is a mind-blowing situation in my opinion. In conclusion, I find this kind of productions particularly entertaining. However, I assume that they do not have a positive impact on people watching them, youngsters and influenceable in particular. Therefore, the possibility to watch this kind of shows should not be allowed untill a certain age has been reached.