Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A large number of food and drink products have a high sugar content, which can lead to numerous health problems. Some people think that sugary products should be made to cost more to discourage people from consuming products with lots of sugar. I personally agree with this because I personally see sugar as a very harmful ingredient to our body. However, I also think that other than increasing the price, there should be policies taken to inform more people of the effects of sugar. To begin with, sugar specifically refined sugar is extremely bad for your body functions. Intaking a high amount of sugar can result in multiple health issues. For instance, it spikes your glucose level and causes your body to be in an inflamed state. Not to mention, the most prevalent side effect of sugar, diabetes, which is a non-curable illness that can eventually be fatal. In additon to making sugary goods more expensive, we should also widely spread awareness to the consequences of consuming sugar. For example, there should be more advertisements and articles stating the drawbacks that come with sugar. Doing so, will make individuals more aware and consume less sugary products. In conclusion, eating a lot of sugar can result in many health issues, it can even lead to death. Therefore, I strongly support the idea of raising the price of sugary food and drinks to decrease their consumption. But I also believe that there should be more actions taken to highlight the side effects of sugar to the public.