IELTS Writing Correction Service / Writing Samples / Band 7 Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that advertising encourages us to purchase things that we do not need. Others believe that advertisements are necessary because they inform us about new products which might bring changes in our lives. I personally agree that advertisements are important because they inform us about the launch of a new product, and the usefulness of a product. Advertisements are important because they inform us about the new products in market. Advertisements are the messages about new products. When a new product is launced in the market, its company circulates advertisements about it. As a result, people know there is something new in the market. For example, when a new product is launched in Bangladesh, its company circulates advertisements in both print and electronic media. People after seeing those advertisements know about the product and want to try it. Moreover, Advertisements tell us about the necessity of a product. People should know about the necessity of a product before purchasing it. Without advertisements, describing the usefulness of a product is not possible. Advertisements convince customers about why this product is useful, how to use it, and how it will impact the lives of people. Without knowing that, they will not be encouraged to buy that product. For example, Devondale butter company has convinced customers about the nutrient values of it through their advertisements. Therefore, people are buying it. In conclusion, I agree that advertisements are important because they let the public know about new products. Advertisements also desbribe describes described about the usefulness of products.