Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that most of the people are living longer than in the past and this leads to the new approach of raising the retirement age significantly. I totally disagree with this view, as I think older people have less energy and cannot be focused as they used to be in their early life. Another argument is that the new generation needs new workplaces and they come with more new ideas. To begin with, getting older comes with many other health problems. Being active after your 60s is not very easy, because many people do not have the energy to make more physical or mental effort. Older people have memory and focus issues, which comes with the risk of making mistakes in their workplace. Others are not able to put effort or complete their job, because of many physical limitations. They do not have motivation and some of them are not capable anymore to resolve their tasks at work as they did when they were younger. Secondly, after the retirement of a generation,more new workspaces are available for the younger one. They are becoming more specialized and qualified, and as a result they all are looking for more opportunities and new workplaces to put their energy and effort into. Nowadays, younger people come with more ideas and new approaches, which helps more companies to develop and improve their results. They have the energy to work on new projects and to achieve more in different fields which is a positive aspect for our society. To conclude, because many people are living much longer does not mean that the age at which people retire from work should be raised markedly. Firstly, the older people have more health problems and on the other hand new workspaces should be available for the new generations.