Robot and AI are being developed to replace humans in the workplace. Why is this happening? Do you think this will have a positive or negative impact on society?

Nowadays, technology is growing at a fast pace. Robot and IA are technological breakthroughs that were introduced to the world just recently. With these advancements, there is a possibility that human beings in the workplace will be replaced by these technologies. It is a fact that robot and AI are cost efficient compared to hiring humans which is why many companies are looking forward to make use of these. While this can be beneficial to businesses, I believe that there are negative impacts that this will bring to the society and this will be discussed in this essay. Many industries nowadays are finding means to cut their expenses inorder to make more profit for their businesses. An example of which is the hospital industry, a specific example is Chastaine Hospital in the US, wherein they already started to make use of robots and AI to perform surgeries to patients. It was reported that they did several successful operations and it was also disclosed that they gained more profit in utilizing the technologies compared to hiring human surgeons who ask for very high compensation. However, patients were complaining on the high hospital bills after being treated. Although the use of advanced techologies can give much profit to business entities, it can create a burden to consumers. One example as mentioned on the previous paragraph is on the high hospital bill after each operation, it is unknown whether patients can keep up to this or if insurance companies can cover for the expenses. Another drawback is on the efficiency of the robots and AI. Unless there are frequent updates and maintence on softwares and hardwares, errors will be inevitable. An example is the error that happened on a bank in the Philippines wherein deposits of customers were easily hacked because of lack of maintenance. In conclusion, robot and AI will be dominant sooner later. While they can promote positive impacts to the world, such as providing more profit for businesses, we should be aware that the drawbacks are far more harmful since it can be more expensive for consumers and the efficiency is unknown. It is therefore much better to do your own research when deciding to avail of the services of robots and AI.