Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people think that local forces ought to have access to mobile phone calls and chats of citizens to save them. But I believe that history of what we do in our gadgets should be private because a person has rights and data of a government can be hacked. Firtsly, no one should be able to see individual's phone call records for privaty reasons, in order to protect freedom of speech. In other words, if a person tells another that their local council is bad and makes poor decisions, he can't be persecuted for that. For instance, there are social networks, like Telegram, whose goal is to defend their users' privacy from not only hackers but also governments. Secondly, generally it is easy to steal vital information from forces. If a government has a huge amount of data about every resident, hackers will try and eventually manage to hack them. Next, they will use this data to break into banks' and social media accounts because usually users send a lot of information about their passwords into chats of families or friends. Admittedly, a governemnt will be able to stop criminals or terrorists using this information but nowadays it is hard to distinguish between simple black humour and real plans. So, police may end up arresting many common citizens. To conclude, while governments might be able to capture more dangerous people, they will also break one of the basics of human's rights and it is a big risk to be hacked. Therefore, local forces mustn't be able to see person's call records and chats.