Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

Recently, an increasing number of countries have decided to introduce laws to limit working hours for those employees. This decision can be illustrated by many reasons, such as the balance between work and life, as well as the health and productivity of employees. Though that issue has both advantages and drawbacks, it is clear that the advantages outweigh disadvantages. Basiclly, the primary purpose of those laws is to make it easier to balance lifes lives and jobs. Excessive working hours will reduce work efficiency and diminish the power to push individuals to work hard for the wages. For instance, research has came up with an idea that employees whose working hours are shorter usually can be more productive and creative during their working time, with a higher level of positive energy. Hence, such a policy can significantly benefit both entrepreneurs and employees by enhancing output, job saticfaction and the activeness of working. What's more, limiting working hours can also lower the percentage of health problems happening. Long working hours will lead to both physical and mental diseases. For example, nations like South Korea, which requires a really long working hours, offer people with a stressful daily life and higher possibility of the problem in waist, heart and head happened. With a lower standard of healthy life, most of those people will suffer from more than just diseases. If South Korea can shorten the working hours, individuals can have more purchasing power due to the falling healthcare costs, thus benefiting the economic growth. Critics may argue that it cannot be always benefitial because of the lack of employees who can working for a long time and the decreasing competitiveness. However, this phenomenon only will happen in short run. In long run, with a healthy cycle of finishing programs, both of the entrepreneurs and employees can have a better performance in their work, along side with a creative, smart and active brain. Furthermore, after adapting those circumstances, more jobs in companies will be provided, leading to less unemployment, while also having efforts in increasing the output of those companies. As a result, national markets can have the opportunity to widen the range of goods and industies, to develop more scarce resources, and to higher people's real income which encourages them to buy more products in the market. So it is evidently that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. In conclusion, though there're still many critical thinking points that cannot agree, it is indeed a great choice to make such laws. The introduction of laws to limit working hours is a significantly positive development in the government work to provide more welfare to people who are living in the country.