Some people think that secondary school students should study international news as a school subject, but others argue that it would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the opinion that studying international news as a subject in secondary schools is a good idea, while others evaluate it as a waste of precious school time. Although usefulness of a knowledge of events happening in the world is undoubtable, for teens of age from 11 to 14 such an information can be insufficient. In my opinion, the school's system should include this subject, but with a smaller number of classes than the basic ones (math, biology, chemistry, history). On the one hand, knowledge that would be taken from the classes of international news would help children in understanding consequences of the actions about which they read in history, that include understanding how quarrels between different cultures in modern times appeared. For example, difficult relations between Europe and Russia that took place from the end of the second World War as well as its impact on modern days. On the other hand, demanding from children fool understanding of the world’s events and their meaning for the society is too much. In addition, making children of news about war or terroristic acts may turn them into rather anxious people. For instance, hearing of the war between Ukraine and Russia or Palestine and Israel may lead teens to the feelings of insecurity and fear. In conclusion, while there are valid arguments on both sides of the debate, incorporating international news into the curriculum can enhance students' understanding of the world. It promotes critical thinking and prepares them to be informed citizens. Therefore, I believe that international news should have a place in secondary education.