Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Some children invest hours in their smartphones. The cause of this problem is children are addicted to their phones. I personally believe that it is a negative development because it hinders their studies. Children spend a significant amount of time on their smartphones because they are addicted to them. Smartphone addiction is so severe among children and they do not want to leave their phones. Addiction makes children constantly watch numerous contents on their phones, which are engaging. Therefore, children find smartphone contents more important than their lives. For instance, children in the UK spend around 6 hours in a day on their smartphones watching funny reels on social media because they find them entertaining and more necessary than their lives. Investing a large amount of time in smartphone is a negative development for children because it hinders their studies. Children cannot concentrate on their studies because the contents of smartphone have a detrimental effect on their minds. They always visualize those contents while studying and cannot absorb what they are learning. For instance, children in India have said that if they watch smartphones at least 3 hours in a day, they find difficulties in concentrating on their studies and forget what they have learned. In conclusion, the cause of spending hours on smartphones by children is they are addicted to them. It is a negative development because it harms their studies.