Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Despite of the profit generated, some people think that international tourism have negative effect for their nation. In this essay I will explain what causing this problem and then I would offer a few solution. First of all, let us consider that foreign tourists has many negative impacts to the country they visit. They tend to act as they please and obey local rule. For example they work illegally in the destination country using tourist visa and stay longer than they allowed. Some travellers also like to buy properties and build homes or villas on their behalf even they are not allowed to do so. Besides, many tourists does not pay attention to traditional values of the people. As a result, those attitude gives disadvantage to locals such as overpopulate in tourism area. Consequently, this would lead to many problems like traffic, pollution, and waste problem. To solve this problem, people need local authority interventions. As example, the government can apply strict working permit & property rule, thus tourist should behave accordingly. In addition, local authority should apply high tax rate for foreigners who want to work or buy properties in their country to get more direct benefit from it. Beside the high tax rate, destination country need to balance benefit given for foreign tourists, such as comfortable holiday, high security, and clean environment so they still get the profit from tourism. To sum up, unfavourable attitude toward international travellers could be minimalised with some serious acts from the government and locals such as apply high tax and apply strict rule for foreign tourist.