Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate on whether or not it is appropriate for a university student to learn any subjects outside their major. In my opinion, every subjects have the same level of importance for receiving a higher degree so a student should be able to learn other subjects that they want. Moreover, in this following paragraph, I will explain both sides and give reasons that lied under my statement. In pursuing a degree, students have a list of courses that need to be completed even though not every appointed courses on that list is suitable for each students. While every students have various character and their own future objection, a university should provide them to take extra courses according to their aim. For example, an economic student who want to be a financial advisor might need to enhance his public speaking and communication skills, unlike his friend who prefer a corporate career. On the contrary, an economic student who want to pursue a career in the government need to learn basic knowledge of public policy and budgeting. Regarding this, a university need to support each students different career prospect. On the other hand, learning too many things at a time might causing students to lose attention to their main study. Sometimes, the courses list appointed by the university is rigorous, it need much time and attention to finish the assignment and pass the exam. Students who failed to organized their time effectively might waste their time and the worst case, this could lead to a burnout. However, to avoid this, the university should regulate the amount of elective courses a student can take. For example, more time consuming courses such as laboratory practices should not be taken at two the same time. As a result, students might not lose focus to the main subjects at the following semester. To sum up, while focusing on courses related to their degree might prevent burnout, students who want to take other subjects outside their major should not be prohibited as it has many advantages in the future.