Plagiarism in academia has become a major issue in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

In many countries across the globe, one of the major issues in academia is copying others' ideas and knowledge in tests which has spiked in recent years. In this essay, I will explore the two crucial reasons behind this and suggest possible solutions. To combat these issues, there are two critical reasons for this behaviour. First of all, pressure in performance may be the initial one. As most of the students are under pressure from family, society and personal expectations to excel academically, this can contribute to resorting to plagiarism because students want to achieve desired results. Academic dishonesty, in turn, is utilised more by students. Adding to the above, the second primary factor can be a lack of understanding. As an example, nowadays, statistics show that some students, especially those new to academic writing, may not understand fully what constitutes plagiarism or the importance of original work This is why they find easy access to information that gives them an opportunity to find articles and other sources in an easy way. As a consequence, they do not rely on their personal knowledge to complete, especially with the easy access to info information online. On the other hand, having said that, solutions for these issues are possible. The primary one is encouraging original thinking. If teachers create an assignment which encourages analysis, creativity and reflection, students may have a chance to personalize projects or problem-solving exercises, making it harder to simply copy material. Scholars, as a result, start to acquire their lessons and fulfil their tests without plagiarism nicely. Apart from the above, educating students is to be introduced as a successful one. Case in point, when short courses are offered by academic institutions for the purpose of helping them to know about plagiarism is, why it is a problem, scholars possess an accessibility to avoid it through proper citation and paraphrasing. The more concepts about it they get, the more good awareness they can create for themselves. They, hence, try hardly to perform on their own with their personal knowledge. In conclusion, plagiarism is a rising concern in many countries in the contemporary world. I elucidated the major problems such as pressure and poor understanding with some solutions such as educating them and encouraging their own thinking ability.