Some people believe that schools should reward those students who show excellent academic performance while some believe that only the ones who show significant improvement in the grades should be rewarded. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently there has been a heated debate about how institutions should recompense the alumni, some believe that only the best among them should be, while others think that the ones who have shown significant improvement when compared to the beginning of their studies should. On the one hand, without a doubt, those youngsters who have the highest grades are the ones that have put more effort into their studies, therefore, they are rewarded only because they make the institute more prestigious. According to the data, all highest ranked universities such as Oxford University use this rewarding method, as a result, postgraduates have been shown to find jobs more easily, increasing the prestige of the university. In addition, this way youngsters are more encouraged to study because they become competitive against each other. On the other hand, every student has different abilities and requires different time to learn, moreover, some of them may have to face some trauma that has kept them away from books, hence, some of them may find some difficulty in finding their path. For example, if an alumn has been through some family issues such as abusive parents, or suffers from autism, it is obvious that their school performances are influenced by their situation. Thus, those scholars should be rewarded when they make even the smallest progress, especially when they are still young. In conclusion, I believe educational institutions should not give rewards only to those who get good grades, but since their priority should be to educate children, they must take care of every one of them, in order to make them improve also as people not only by the scholastic point of view.