In the last decade, there has been an increase in the number of variety of online courses available to adults. While welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other student see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course.

Recently, there has been an upward trend in the number of online learning platforms which are accessible to adults. There is an ongoing debate over whether web-based learning replaces traditional education or not. Moreover, e-learning has its own benefits and drawbacks and this essay will explore both of these. On the one hand, one of the main disadvantages of online education is that it might mitigate some skills, including interpersonal skills, teamwork,of the students. For example, students take an online course in order to acquire knowledge on a specific domain, in turn they do not discuss the topic with their peers, leading to a decrease in their communication abilities. Another negative aspect of internet-based teaching might distract the individuals from the lesson. This means that a weak internet connection or noise from the house might disturb the students, which leads to a decline in academic performance. On the other hand, there are many benefits of online courses due to easier access, time and cost-effectiveness. Additionally, the primary perk of internet-based courses are time-saving when students just connect their devices (mobile phones, computer or laptop) to the internet, then push a button, and enter the lesson. Even though, people do not devote their time to the travelling in order to study as a means of traditional education. Similarly, it can be more affordable rather than classroom teaching with regards to the annual university price, and transportation cost. For example, the cost of online courses on web platforms is around 100$ in the IT field, which is as lower compared to ordinary teaching. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of e-learning courses such as lessening of skills, disappearingdisappealing, it has numerous advantages time, and money savings.