Nowadays, anyone can post information on the internet even if it is incorrect. As a result, most of the information we read is inaccurate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fallacious data spread on the web by anonymous sources has been rising causing the Internet to become unreliable. This has led many to be sceptical regarding a large chunk of the hyperspace and its authenticity. If questioned, I personally agree with this notion to a major extent. My view is justified further. Out of several arguments, the foremost one to support my opinion is that the Internet is unrestricted. In other words, in today's technology savvy world, going online and posting selfmade self made content has become very convenient and free; therefore, the netizens do it frequently and without any type of monitoring and censoring. As a result, more and more people are exposed to unfiltered and dubious information, which they believe easily. In fact, one survey revealed that more than 70% posts on the Net are not based on truth. Apart from that, the social media gives users broadcasting ability. To reformulate, unlike earlier, anonymous individuals can gain huge number of followers on their social media and possess an ability to influence them with their posts. In the past, mass communication was not possible or was limited to certain qualified individuals, whereas today any person irrespective of their age, gender, social status, qualifications, or moral understanding can reach to thousands or millions sometimes. This causes rumours, fake news, and wrong information to spread faster than ever. However, I could not overlook the opposite side, too. Mainly, the transparency has increased due to the internet. This is to say that anyone can refer to any websites without any restrictions and only trust the official sources for reliable information. Moreover, the multimedia increases the veracity of the news now more than ever. Earlier, only text-based news was published, but now video evidences are attached which makes it more certain. To conclude, although all information is not fake on the cyberspace because more trusted sources could be referred, on the whole I maintain to a large extent that, primarily, the social media and lack of moral code, makes the web highly unreliable place to gain information. I personally believe, everybody must check authenticity of everything they consume off the web.