Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, most individuals tend to not build relationship with their neighbors. This issue is largely due to the influence of technology. This essay will discuss about a few causes and provides some solutions for this problem. One primary reason for the decline in neighborly relationships is the rise of digital communication. People are now likely to interact on social media. For example, in Thailand, individuals tend to use messaging application called "LINE" to chat in privately or discuss about work. The app also has a face time feature that able to share a screen so people do not have to meet face-to-face. As a consequence of this, pupils rarely meet in person, leading to detachment. Furthermore, an increasing number of people are becoming introverted due to this lifestyle, which can lead to a fear of meeting new people and a lack of social skills. Therefore, this problem makes it harder to build a connection in society. To tackle this problem, communities should encourage social event. A good example would be organizing neighborhood gathering events or activities such as party or a festival on holiday. It can provide residents with opportunities to interact each other with entertainment since they have an opportunity to break the ice and form connection. Additionally, if individuals are fear to counteract with others face-to-face, they should greet and introduce themselves on the online platform first. This approach can help reduce the anxiety and excitement, they will be more relaxed and not feeling awkward when gets to meet in person. In conclusion, social media and pupils in this era contribute to reduced interaction between neighbors. Nevertheless, the solution to alleviate this issue is to set up community events and interact on social media to build connections initially.