Some people think that a person can never understand a culture of the country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

Most people agree that language play a pivotal role in culture, because language is the key for communication. Albeit some people think it is essential to speak the language in order to understand a culture, I disagree with this statement because that is not the only way to understand a culture. Language definitely important in culture, because people share their knowledge and information through communication that will be understood by each other. Many cultural idioms, expressions and traditions that are hard to translate from local language to other language. Literature, music and movie also play significant role in understanding culture, but language barrier may limit this experience. However, language is not the only factor that contribute in culture's comprehension. It is not always necessary to speak the language to understand its culture. For instance, someone can learn a lot about korean culture through music and movies, altough korean use its own language in the lyric and movie's dialogue. Another example is people can enhance their knowledge about Thailand culture through their traditional food such as Tomyam, Pat Yai, Mango sticky Rice, etc without have to speak Thai language. I believe it is the other way around, Art and Food is two of many universal way to expressing culture, and this can pique someone interest in learning the culture deeply and try to understand local language. In conclusion, language is an important tool to enhance cultural understanding, but it is not an absolute requirement. There are many way to appreciate and learn new culture which do not require to speak local language.