You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Those who have to speak a second language in a foreign country may face various social and practical scenarios. However, I believe that the challenges of living abroad are not that thorny and can be overcome relatively quickly. On one hand, using an entirely unknown language in a new country may create many problems. Since language is a primary requirement for any individual when they migrate to another nation. If they are not competent at this point, their daily tasks will be a wide range of difficulties. For example, doing administration procedures, if people's language ability can meet the standard, they can’t complete the procedure, which can bring about many problems. Besides, people may have to deal with the dialect of local people that can hamper their opportunities to engage with their new neighbors. On the other hand, even though language barriers can be a serious challenge in blending into new culture, it can be resolved by numerous ways. One of the most effective ways is by exploring and learning about this language in advance, which can help immigrants become acquainted with this language and reduce the chance of being overwhelmed in the new culture. Besides, when living in a new environment, people should communicate with their neighbors as much as possible. Because, environments is a key in competenting second language, the more intimate they get with their neighbors, the more expert in a new language they are. Furthermore, it will be easier if people can take help from their own compatriots to overcome this problem. In conclusion, the challenge lies in the matter of language proficiency; therefore, people should find methods to eliminate this, because it is effortless to resolve the problems that language barrier brings about.