In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies currently emphasize that their goods should be modern in certain methods in their advertising. I think the key factor driving the statement is advanced technology, and it results in an isolation for the people over 60 years old. Technology’s improvements present new lives to individuals. People have been living lives that are different from the past. We couldn’t imagine ordering food and communicating with foreign friends who live far away from me by phone in the past. However, innovation of IT techniques allow us to do that. Now, people are interested in new technology which can provide unique, and amazing experiences to them. In other words, humans don’t have an interest in past things now. They conceive past things like paper, pencils, and notebooks as less valuable. For example, teenagers in Korea love to study with iPads and Galaxy Note Tablets, rather than their books and notebooks because they think such things are too traditional to use in the modern era. However, I argue that the statement above leads to a negative effect on old people. It makes it hard to get new information for them, because they are not familiar with new technology and unique things that they haven’t experienced before. In other words, they feel they are isolated from society. Moreover, they might feel discouraged to adjust in lives which they haven’t seen in the past. For example, around the world, old people sometimes don’t feel confident in choosing products in the market because they can’t be sure that this is the right one that they expect to buy. In conclusion, businesses these days emphasize that their merchandise is new in some way in their advertising. I believe that the cause of the statement is technology’s innovation and it leads to limitations for old people