Many countries spend large amounts of money on world sporting events such as the Olympic Games and football World Cup. Instead these monies can be spent on encouraging young children to take up sports at a young age. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a contentious issue whether huge international sports events are a good investment or an unnecessary spending. Some people believe it is better to use this budget to organize activities for kids. In this essay, I will elaborate on this subject and give my point of view on this situation. To begin with, I strongly agree that entertainment such as Olympic Games and football World Cup are the waste of money. People pay taxes to improve their way of living rather than sponsor big parties. The way championships are organized nowadays have nothing in common with increasing a life quality. It is all about a fun. Consequently, most pressure is put on the marketing, creating a show, hiring famous people instead of people who are truly passionate about sport. Moreover, we have a lot of meaningful sports talents all around the world. Those who were born in a poor family cannot spend enough on their development. Because the government chose to invest in events, they neglected the true needs of young people. If we do not change anything in this aspect, we will lose many future champions among the young. For instance, they may decide to resign from a sport because they do not receive good support. To sum up, I strongly believe we should pay more attention to undiscovered talents who are the future of the country and events that certainly matter for those who paid their taxes for it. The present situation that many countries spend a large amount on a show should end as fast as it is possible.