Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that cooking is a valuable skill which goes on throughout our lives and youth of today should learn how to cook basic meals as it is a survival skill and many benefits, which can not be overlooked, many other believe that it is a wasting time and resources. This essay intends to discuss both perpectives. I believe it should be a personal choice and can not not imposed on the children. There are many reasons why some individuals believe that it is an essential skill and should be incorporated as a school subject. First of all, we are living in a global village today and sometimes, we send our children to the neighbouring countries to study and grow. They come across with different situations there. Meanwhile, they learn how to plan their resources as per their needs such as manageing money with other important things. So, sometimes they do not have enough money that they can purchase food everday from outside, but if they know how to cook, it is relatively cheaper and money-saving. Secondly, in the era of inflanation information inflation, both parents have to work in order to meet the expenses of today, I think it can be helpful for them if they have taught cooking to their child, so that they do not need to worry about their kids as they are able to make basic meals for them. In view of this phenomenon, I believev it is a advantageous skill. On the other side, who assert that it is not a must learning skill, give their reasons as follows. Firstly, it is a waste of time as per their opinion because in this era of technology, they can order and receive food in the matter of mintues and they do not think that it is advisable to add it as a subject in schools. Secondly, students are struggling with their studies today because of the competition, peer-pressure and parents expectations are really high, so they are in the rat-race of going ahead of each other. Consquently, which is creating extra pressure which can lead to serious health problems such as depression and weight gain. That is why, they think it should not be added as a another subject. In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that it is a blessing for the learners if they are interested to learn how to cook when need arises, but on the other side if they already dealing with other important subjects and their grades are suffering then, it can be optional subject in schools.