With the advent of social media, more people are getting their news online instead of from print media. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who read news online.

The significant number of citizens who prefer to read news online rather than printed newspapers due to the advancement of social media platforms. There are both benefits and drawbacks of reading news online, however, the advantages outweigh the downsides. On the one hand, the e-readers incase of newspapers are increasing drammatically in this contemporary society due to the improvement of social media like Facebook, Tiktok, X, and Instragram. Firstly, reading soft copy is convenient and more cheaper than previously hard copies as they do not need to buy papers. Secondly, It can be read from any parts of the world as well as they have the chance to get old news from the archive. Moreover, this process is environment friendly as they do not require any raw materials (trees) to print this news. For instance, according to the investigation of BBC bangla, Bangladeshi newspaper companies require more than 1 million tons paper to cover their news in a year, which have a significant negative impact on our forests. On the other hand, sometimes we see that it is common for online newspapers publishing some fake news to catch people attention which is not possible in printed versions. Besides, advertisements kill time while reading in an online platform. In addition, bule rays come during reading which is too deleterious to our eye. For example, a research paper was published by the University of Dhaka, they explained that more than 78% eye problems were due to the radiation came from digital devices like moblies, laptops. In conclusion, reading news in online websites enables people to get news promptly with a cheap price, which would take at least one day previously. Although, there are some disadvantages like heath problems but the facilities outweigh the downsides.