Many students choose to complete at least some part of their university studies in a foreign country. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

It is common among young individuals to study some of their semesters abroad. Although they can get more mature and experience a new culture by staying in another country for a while, individuals can face loneliness and communication issues. In the one hand, international students have the chance to be completely independent. This is to say, they have to get out of their comfortzone with no support from family, friends or relatives and they have to look after themselves. They obtain cooking, cleaning, budgeting and many other skills during their residence time. In addition, living the host country's culture can lead them to build worthy memories. Trying a whole new cuisine and colorful dishes, visiting historical and cultural museums, monuments, and even learning a new language, which eventually will broaden their wisdom and knowledge. For example, many students have moved to Italy permenantly after they have finished their courses as Italy's historical buildings, food and warm people are mesmerizing. In the other hand, not knowing a single person in a whole country can make anyone feel lonely. Young students are far from anyone they know and they have to start building connections from baseline. Thus, this might lead to depression and anxiety as it is a huge burden to handle for especially introverted youth. Moreover, language barrier is another downside of studying overseas. Not knowing the destination's language might have a destructive impact on getting into communities of campus or making friends. Furthermore, learning subjects in another language might not be easily managable. For instance, many international students in Germany struggle to get into friend groups as learning German might take several years and German citizens mostly tend to not communicate in any other languages. To add up, understanding lessons when the lecturer is not a native English speaker like in Germany is another problem as the accent might not sounds fluent. As students travel overseas to study in foreign univeristies, they get wiser and learn useful life skills. However, they also face difficulties to build relationships and to communicate, if they are not fluent in host country's language.