Write about the following topic: People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The character of people´s interactions has become a strongly debated topic. These days citizens are more interested in connecting through digital platforms instead of meeting in face-to-face events. I will first focus on the reasons of this issue before moving on to look at its positive side. I strongly believe the Internet is a brilliant resource which adresses people´s necessities swiftly and efficiently improving the quality of their living. The first point to consider is that the digital revolution has created unlimited websites fully shifted into adressing people´s everyday concerns. The reason for this is that companies have focused their resources on technological solutions which inspire citizens to fulfill their neccesities in less time. As a result, people have diminished their face-to-face interactions in favour of a digital modality of connections. For example, a woman who is shopping online will find faster a particular item of clothing using a filter rather than asking the staff of a store. This makes evident the comfortable character on the use of the Internet, although this kind of interactions are far more superficial. A further consideration is that the use of technology has a great positive impact on human´s physical health. This is because citizens can save more time and invest it in activities to keep fit. For instance, a man who attends a meeting online can spend the time he would have used in travelling to his office on hiking or going to the gym. Thus, the Internet makes our daily schedule far more flexible. Overall, the current interest of people in connecting digitally rather than in person is a contested issue. Technology has allowed the creation of webs well-adapted to our daily concerns, enhancing our health mentally. Personally, I hope big companies continue making our living far more comfortable in next generations.