Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a contentious debate over the use of social media to mantain people connected with their relatives. Despite the advantages that it presents, there should be some control over what is shared among others and how it affects our life. Having said that, I am inclined to believe that social media has broaden up communication barriers and, nowadays, forging and keeping in touch with friends and family who are far away is easier than ever. First and foremost, it is important to note that social media has helped us to share our daily life with our relatives, what so called followers. If I were to tell anyone about this advances, no one would believe the wide range of opportunities social media brings us. From talking to our friends to keep updated. Furthermore, what 20 years ago took days, or even weeks, to be transmitted, now is up to a click. Technology and social media has led to a fast and easy way of communication. In contrast, it can adversely impact in our privacy. What we share and post throughout the internet can have detrimental consequences. In addition, the data which is generated by the users of social media is collected and used by companies for business purposes. Hence, it is crucial that we should be concern about the information we are sharing with others. When it comes to sensible information it migh be a different path to transmit it. Besides these disadvantages, if we are aware of the information we are managing and how to tackle this possible outcomes, nothing harmful might happen. To conclude, social media has stranghen our communication, allowing us to stay tunned on recent news and other's life. Taking into account that some information could be gathered, it is important to be responsible when it comes to share some type of information.