You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words.

If students were eager to follow scientific training in universities during the eighties and before, the trend has crystal clearly changed these last decades.In fact, many of them tend to choose non-scientific subjects in their curriculum. This essay will,in the first instance, explore the reasons for this issue, it will then suggest the effects on society. Science has always been considered the engine of mankind's development.Without some fundamental themes like mathematics or medicine, we would not be able to reach the level of comfort we are living in.In spite of this obviousness, science subjects remain, unfortunately, abandoned by students at university.The first reason for that, is the hardness of learning sciences.Indeed, many youngsters are afraid to fail at nailing their exams, and flee from difficult topics at university. Furthermore, youth are nowadays more interested in earning money than doing what they really enjoy, because of the influence of social media. For instance, never has the number of med students been as low as now, in developed countries.Knowing that medicine studies are long in time, and that a junior doctor earns less than an employee in finance, students tend to escape from this genre of jobs. However, this phenomenon has a negative impact on society.Indeed, countries, all over the world,are suffering from an emptiness of engineers and doctors as well as, many other scientific profiles.The lack of employees in strategic sectors like industry and health care, triggers a real disaster concerning national productivity, and slows the development of humanity down.In France for example, hospitals suffer from a lack of doctors, especially in the emergency services,which may induce catastrophic consequences for patients in need of quick support. In conclusion, the hardness of scientific studies and the financial issues related to concerned jobs are the main reasons for the aforementioned problem whereas, the effect on society is the lack of employees in some strategic sectors, which leads to a stand-by in general development.