Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by school and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

Many countries still use final exams as a standard for their students to get passed the semester. The main reason is because these exams contain questions with material in each semester that could asses student's understanding. However, other methods such as a group project and an individual project could be viable options. Formal exams are equal for every student. The teacher creates the exam questions based on the material that was taught within the semester and these questions can examine student's understanding. Because of that, this method is used to standardize their ability and is implemented in many universities and schools. However, a group project can be a feasible option other than formal exams. A group project shows not only student's knowledge but also their ability in a hands-on and teamwork. For example, in IT majors, a project group can be implemented in some subjects such as algorithm and mobile application where they can devide decide the responsibilities for each members and choose the topic, thus, they enhance their ability to work as a team. Another viable option is an individual project. In many majors in universities that prioritizing technical skill, an individual project should be a primary assessment. This is due to the fact that formal exams can not determine their actual skills in these fields. In Mechanical Engineering major, for instance, there are many practicals such as vehicle electricity and arranging the machines and if the lecturer only evaluates them based on the exams, their technical ability will be questionined questioning. To conclude, the possible reason the academic establishments use formal exams is that it contains material within the period and it can be a standard evaluation. However, other options are a group project and an individual project that can evaluate their technical skill and also their capability to work as a team.