"Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?"

Human beings are social creature and socializing can take several forms. These days, most people choose to interact using social media rather than meeting their friends in real life. Even if technology is growing rapidly, it is still important to make a live conversation as it gives more benefits to have a face-to-face conversation. To begin with, socializing online doesn’t involve interaction and direct contact with another human being. This kind of relation does not have a deep connection with each other, they won’t fully have a strong bond with their partner. Although nowadays video calls and online meetings are common things to do, it will be harder to have a deep connection without a direct contact. For example, people with long distant relationship cannot have a real time meeting and they don’t have the chance to do activities together. However, having relationship where you can meet your partner offline means having more quality time together. Secondly, virtual relation can lead to self-isolation. With only online interaction, people will feel that they have no emotional support, this can lead to mental-health issues. Online interactions are mostly done at home with their own gadget; this means that people who do virtual interaction will be doing everything else such as shopping, watching movies alone, which can cause the person to feel lonely. Most people need physical interaction to feel supported, with only socializing online it can be hard to receive physical contact. In conclusion, as a social being it is important for human to socialize. With offline relation, human will feel more emotionally supported and will not feel missing out.