Write about the following topic. Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Recently, the impact of traditions on the progress of societies has become a debated topic. Many people believe these cultural activities should be left in favour of the innovation of the future generations. In my view, I feel traditional events hold an important value, which can drive the progress of tomorrow´s lives. In this essay, I will explain my reasons why, as well as the role they should hold in any population. The first point to consider is that behaviours from the past can be a source of inspiration for future societies. Many traditions are based on the experience of citizens from different historical periods, which provides current generations with useful knowledge to apply in their daily lives. As a result, not only the comfort and efficience of people´s routine improve, but also this information can be used as a reference point for tomorrow´s innovations. Secondly, traditions should drive an educational and economic activity in any country. On one hand, individuals can educate themselves with historical facts and experiences from their own antecessors. On the other hand, keeping traditions can act as a marketing strategy to increase the number of tourists who visit the country. Consequently, the governments experience an important economic growth. For instance, "Fallas" is a well-known Spanish tradition which drives a great financial activity in the country since it acts as a tourist attraction. In recent years, people have dicussed the role of traditional events in the innovative development of populations. These celebrations can inspire the success of future generations. Moreover, they can play a beneficial role in our current living from an educational and economic perspective. Personally, we shouldn´t let go traditions as they can be a reference point for innovative mindsets from the future.