Many people believe that the bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport.  What are the reasons?  What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population? (2021.4.10)

In recent years, it is quite common that Bicycles are no longer the main form of transportation. In the essay, I will give the possible reasons and solutions. One main reason is an alternative enhancement, With the improvement of living standards and personal income, people begin to seek more convenient and comfortable ways to travel. Bicycles are an affordable option, but as incomes rise and many people start to buy cars, the existence of bicycles is gradually ignored. Besides that have security issues, Because of the lack of safe parking facilities in some workplaces. In particular, bicycles are easily to collisions in crowded environments. Because city roads are complex, many people will choose other traffic form. In addition, Weather conditions also affect people's travel choices. Riding in hot weather can make people feel stuffy, winter can make people feel cold, and seasonal changes make riding difficult. There are some measures to encourage people to use a bicycles. To be more specific, We can strengthen publicity and education, and promote the benefits of cycling through various media to raise people's awareness, such as energy saving and environmental protection and easing traffic congestion. At the same time, More dedicated bike lanes can be built to ensure the safety of cycling. In conclusion, the reason why Bicycles are not the main form of transportation is that an alternative enhancement, have security issues and weather conditions. Even though the phenomenon is very common, we can take some action to address it, such as strengthen publicity and education and dedicated bike lanes.