Children are more likely to talk to their pets about their problems, than their siblings" (Source: BBC) Nowadays more and more pet owners consider their pets as a member of their family. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is a report showing that children seem to be more willing to talk to their pets about their problems rather than sharing with their siblings. Meanwhile, more families consider their pets as a member of family. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement. Pets are friends of human, and they have become an important element for maintaining humans' mental and emotional well-being. The reason why people start to talk to their pets more is because pets are great listeners. They simply listen to human's complaint and they do not make any judgement. On the other hand, telling problems to friends or family members sometimes makes things worse, as they might give unpleasant feedbacks. Therefore, more individuals find pets more reliable for keeping secrets and sharing complaint. In recent years, the trend of pet café has aroused significant popularity among people, as they offer human a sense of healing, which helps some people to be mentally healthy. In addition, pets can play diverse roles in a family. They could be a companion with elderly, and at the same time, be the best player with kids. Studies reveal that an elderly living with pets has less possibility to feel lonely and also being more physically active. For example, the need of walking dogs can bring old people to go outside for a stroll, which enables them to retain good health condition. As for kids, pets are friends that have limitless energy and can play with them for a long time. Moreover, breeding pets can help promote the domestic intimacy, putting every family member closer. Personally, I do see a lot of families treating their pets as their family member, and I believe it is a positive trend, as more and more people are respectful to animals and taking good care of them. In conclusion, I firmly agree with the phenomenon of humans' closer relationship with pets. People seek for a sense of understanding through talking to pets and this has helped them lessen emotional pain. Furthermore, breeding pets makes a family more united and healthy, potentially cultivating a sense of responsibility toward animals in the society.