Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages; therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the advancement of technology has considerably facilitated the language translation. As a result, some people think that learning a foreign language is useless. In my opinion, I do not agree with this concept, as I believe that learning a foreign language can lead to numerous benefits. Being able to speak a foreign language can convey words with emotions, which is impossible for digital translation program to reach. It is true that the online translation tool is remarkably efficient today. However, this kind of mechanic translation is lack of natural emotions and can not deliver the real feeling of words. Moreover, using online translation makes people's convensation limited in cool digital machine, which is not a proper way to build a closer relationship with people who we talk to. If human only rely on translating machine rather than learning languages, the world will be divided and becoming less connected. Learning foreign languages not only helps us acquire the ability of communicating, but also broaden our perspective internationally. Firstly, learning a foreign language can steer us to get familiar with the cultural background of a language, which could make people gain more knowledge from a foreign culture. For example, learning French helps learners to be equipped with a relaxing tone of speaking, as French people are known for their distinctive pronounciation and their chill life style. From my perspective, learning a foreign language is an amazing tool which enables me to see the world with a wider view. I have made lots of foreign friends by employing my English speaking skills, and I believe that this achievement can not be obtained with only the aid of online translator. In conclusion, although the translation programs are undoubtedly powerful, they can not make a deeper connection with foreigners as the words they translate do not impart emotions. Also, learning a foreign language enriches our lives with different culture influence and makes us expand our social circle more worldwidly.